Connect Indigo2 to internet

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
marius_can_15
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:34 pm

Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby marius_can_15 » Tue May 05, 2015 5:15 pm

Hello there,

There are several weeks now since I've got my first Fuel and, due to missing OS, it is still dead.
Thanks though for the tip with OpenBSD, but at this point my Unix-like command line knowledge is very limited. Same for tip with the work that is done in LINUX.

But the good news is that I've got another box, an Indigo2 with IRIX 6.2 in working condition. The question that I have is how can I connect it to the Internet? My home network is Windows/Android/Linux with about 10 devices without domain and I am connected to the NET through a standard Bell gateway.

Thanks for help
Marius
:Indigo2: :Fuel: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Tezro:

chicaneuk
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby chicaneuk » Wed May 06, 2015 5:10 am

:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2: :O200:

SAQ
Posts: 5871
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby SAQ » Wed May 06, 2015 6:41 am

The other thing you'll want is a good firewall and a lot of care. Last patch set for 6.2 was 2001/2002 era, and the newest browser is likewise pretty old - porting newer browsers over is nontrivial, even with the POSIX compatibility patches.

While I don't envision hordes of script kiddies looking for IRIX boxes, you might want to channel remote access through another box, use TGCware SSH, or VPN to cut your risks.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

"I am O SH-- the Great and Powerful"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
VenomousPinecone
Posts: 2141
Joined: Mon Jun 20, 2005 2:10 pm
Location: Groom Lake, NV

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby VenomousPinecone » Fri May 08, 2015 11:39 am

In line with what SAQ recommended, harden up a bit if your going online:
http://web.archive.org/web/200410120222 ... php?id=326
http://www.giac.org/paper/gcux/56/harde ... tem/100969

Both are good reads.

robespierre
Posts: 1554
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby robespierre » Fri May 08, 2015 12:37 pm

ISP-supplied gateway + unpatched 1990s Unix = pwned in minutes.
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

marius_can_15
Posts: 16
Joined: Thu Apr 02, 2015 3:34 pm

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby marius_can_15 » Fri May 08, 2015 3:20 pm



I might be misteken but do I have to have a HOME Domain Name Server in order to get in the Net? I hope I am wrong... :(
:Indigo2: :Fuel: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2IMP: :Tezro:

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6543
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby foetz » Fri May 08, 2015 9:45 pm

marius_can_15 wrote:do I have to have a HOME Domain Name Server in order to get in the Net?

no.

and as the others said, you really shouldn't make this one visible to the outside. put it behind a router or something so that it's not reachable from the internet unless you forward something explicitly.
that goes for any box of course unless it's something tight and configured well

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby hamei » Fri May 08, 2015 11:37 pm

foetz wrote: put it behind a router or something

Does anyone not use at least a router these days ? Plus if his "home network is Windows/Android/Linux with about 10 devices" then he's either connecting each box individually one at a time or else something, somewhere is doing routing and at the very least, nat.
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

chicaneuk
Posts: 333
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2012 3:48 am

Re: Connect Indigo2 to internet

Unread postby chicaneuk » Sat May 09, 2015 6:50 am

Your router will (usually) act as a DNS server / forwarder, so just configure your I2 to point at that.
:Indigo: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Octane2: :O200:


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests