Page 4 of 4

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Fri May 22, 2015 11:48 pm
by foetz
vishnu wrote:if you want to run applications like Maya or Pro/E or Shake, having VPro is hugely beneficial...

sure, those that do work fine with vpro run well of course

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 12:39 pm
by bushnrvn
Yeah - I bought a set of TRAM modules, but at least one of them isn't functional. Luckily, I'm not out that much money.

I was really hoping to upgrade this from an ESSI to an MXE. It isn't much of an issue yet since I haven't had time to sit down and try to install an OS yet.

What kinds of programs can I expect to be able to run with 1GB RAM, ESSI\MXE? I have what I have, and I'm not looking to throw hundreds of dollars at this side project. Mostly, I just want to get it up and running, maybe some conversation piece programs I can show off :) .

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Tue May 26, 2015 4:14 pm
by foetz
bushnrvn wrote:What kinds of programs can I expect to be able to run with 1GB RAM, ESSI\MXE?

everything. an octane mxe is quite at the end of the irix evolution so pretty much everything that's available for irix runs there very nicely

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 11:28 am
by bushnrvn
Back from the dead. I put the Octane on a shelf and let it sit unused for the last several months. Just before that, I got my hands on two new TRAM modules, but they fail the hardware test. Oh well. That's life.

Anyway, I have some discs that I think are what I need to get this thing working. I am going to try and set up a Linux network install this weekend.
It also occurred to me to try using a SCSI zip disk for storage - is this possible?

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:12 pm
by armanox
bushnrvn wrote:Back from the dead. I put the Octane on a shelf and let it sit unused for the last several months. Just before that, I got my hands on two new TRAM modules, but they fail the hardware test. Oh well. That's life.

Anyway, I have some discs that I think are what I need to get this thing working. I am going to try and set up a Linux network install this weekend.
It also occurred to me to try using a SCSI zip disk for storage - is this possible?

Maybe? I've never successfully done a local Linux boot on an octane (outside of a Gentoo live CD I used to have). I suppose you could NetBoot it and just use the Zip afterwards, but that only is going to give you what, 100 megabytes of storage? Might be better off using NFS for storage.

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:05 pm
by ajw99uk
bushnrvn wrote:It also occurred to me to try using a SCSI zip disk for storage - is this possible?
SCSI Syquest 270MB worked for me on a Fuel (internal) and Indigo2 (external) so chances are a SCSI Zip will too.

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 6:11 pm
by bushnrvn
Just to clarify, when I am talking about a network boot with Linux, I am talking about doing a network install of Irix via a Linux host. It is outlined here:

http://techpubs.spinlocksolutions.com/irix/remote-irix-6.5-installation-from-linux.html

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Nov 05, 2015 9:11 pm
by armanox
bushnrvn wrote:Just to clarify, when I am talking about a network boot with Linux, I am talking about doing a network install of Irix via a Linux host. It is outlined here:

http://techpubs.spinlocksolutions.com/irix/remote-irix-6.5-installation-from-linux.html


Ah okay. I thought you meant running Linux on the Octane. I put together a more recent guide then the one you listed (there was a detail or two missing when I tried to use it) about a year ago that you're welcome to use: Installing IRIX from Fedora Linux

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Fri Nov 06, 2015 5:18 pm
by vishnu
Also, if you haven't done it yet have a look at your /etc/fstab and purge anything that looks like it's an NFS mount. Someone mentioned earlier in the thread that it might be trying to load network volumes that the previous owner had but I don't think the cure of editing fstab was specifically mentioned...

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 10:19 am
by bushnrvn
Another necro update

I eventually got IRIX working on this machine. I split my retrocomputing time between Apple\TI-99\Other - and since this is the only SGI machine I own it ends up sitting for long periods of time.

Curious exactly where I might be able to pick up some working TRAM modules. Are those very rare? Otherwise, it doesn't seem like I can do much with the machine (3D, demos, etc.)

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Thu Jun 16, 2016 11:46 am
by Krokodil
TRAM's for Octane EMXI/MXE can often be found on Fleabay. Sometimes you can get a complete Max Impact board with TRAMS too.

Better if you can get a complete set, if they were removed they may have been damaged in the process. They are rather fragile.

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 12:31 pm
by bushnrvn
Which is the proper serial number for the EMXI TRAM? I think I read somewhere that they have to be a faster revision of the hardware?

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Fri Jun 24, 2016 2:12 pm
by Krokodil
Seems to be alot of confusion between MXE and EMXI. Some people claim they are the same and other people say there are slight differences. But here are the

It's one of these.

TRAM Module for E-type MGRAS graphics (SE/SSE):(SGI PN 030-1263-002, upgrade SSE to MXE)
TRAM Module for I-type MGRAS graphics (SI/SSI): (SGI PN 030-1277-001, upgrade SSI to MXI)
TRAM Module for I-type MGRAS graphics (SI/SSI): (SGI PN 030-0961-002, upgrade SSI to MXI)

Re: Just got my first SGI machine. Requesting help with IRIX

Posted: Mon Jun 27, 2016 5:22 pm
by robespierre
MXE and EMXI are exactly the same. They are just the marketing designation and the manufacturing name for the same board.