Internet Connection for Indy

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
ibara
Posts: 33
Joined: Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:25 pm
Location: Troy, NY, USA
Contact:

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby ibara » Sat Nov 08, 2014 8:55 am

You need an IRC client.
:O2: reco 195 MHz R10K, 512 MB RAM, CRM, OpenBSD
Plus a lot of other MIPS machines: 2x Lemote Yeeloong (loongson), Lemote Fuloong (loongson), Lemote 3A laptop (loongson), Portwell CAM-0100 (octeon), UBNT EdgeRouter LITE (octeon)

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Sat Nov 08, 2014 10:52 am

I finally got it hooked up, thanks everyone!

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Sat Nov 08, 2014 11:31 am

When I got on the internet with the Indy, it would kick me off sometimes when i tried to go to a site. This is what the boxes the I got said, ''Netscape has detected a /.netscape/lock file. This may indicate that another user is running Netscape using your /.netscape files. It appears to be running on host Indy under process-ID 972'' and another box said, '' ALERT: arp,host with MAC address 6c.33.a9.34.c6.1e is sitll using my IP address 192.168.0.4''. Netscape would just completely disappear and then one of the boxes pops up or while Netscape is still running. I did not have any other computer hooked up, just the Indy. Also, it does the same thing when i go to another site when i reopen the browser. What's going on?

User avatar
toasty
Posts: 50
Joined: Thu May 01, 2014 12:54 am

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby toasty » Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:08 pm

Congrats on getting it working. Try turning off some unneeded services with these commands and reboot:

Code: Select all

chkconfig autoconfig_ipaddress off
chkconfig ipaliases off
chkconfig esp off


Make a backup of the .netscape folder and restart the browser with a fresh configuration. Be sure to turn off Java & Javascript. Your Indy will thank you :). But keep in mind it's an outdated browser and most sites won't load properly.

Code: Select all

mv $HOME/.netscape $HOME/.netscape.backup
:Fuel: rhaegar :MacBook: snow

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Sat Nov 08, 2014 12:36 pm

Thanks toasty! I did the commands, but i'm not sure how to make a backup file and how do i turn off the Java and the Javascript? Also, how do I check my total disk space (the picture of the circle) and how do i delete a home directory (or computer name), because a few days ago I accidently made '' IRIX. '' with the dot at the end or should I not mess with that? I'm using Indy which I just made today and it still has the original IRIX on it.

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Sat Nov 08, 2014 3:43 pm

What i'm thinking is that when I keep getting the message with the ethernet cable being hooked up, '' ALERT: arp,host with MAC address 6c.33.a9.34.c6.1e is still using my IP address 192.168.0.4 '', it's the same for IRIS, IRIS. , and for Indy. Maybe it's counter flicking from me using Indy's computer name with the same IP address? How do I delete the old hostnames?

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Sat Nov 08, 2014 6:26 pm

I really want to delete IRIS. and Indy hostnames. I'll just keep IRIS and redo the network connection on it or should I keep Indy? I wish it was simply to delete the hostnames. Please can anybody help me?

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1795
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby uunix » Sun Nov 09, 2014 3:44 pm

Open a shell (Top left - Tool Chest - Desktop - Open unix shell)
type the following and press enter/return
netstat -ia

Under the column Address, you will possibly see a bunch of letters & numbers segmented by 5 : (that is five colons)
for example 6c:33:a9:34:c6:1e (this is the mac of the machine using your ip address 192.168.0.4)
If the above example is NOT in your Address list then this states that something else on your network has that IP address.
The error message you are seeing is NOT to do with the host name.

Interestingly, I ran the same command on my R5000 O2 and there was no mac address displayed. On my R12000 O2 it was displayed and so I booted up the INDY and that did display the mac address.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Mon Nov 10, 2014 2:46 pm

Nevermind, I'm selling my Indy.

User avatar
nongrato
Posts: 215
Joined: Thu May 15, 2014 5:24 am
Location: SPb, RU
Contact:

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby nongrato » Mon Nov 10, 2014 3:08 pm

goldenamber wrote:Nevermind, I'm selling my Indy.


This was the first thing I wanted to advise you.
:Octane2: :320:

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Mon Nov 10, 2014 4:26 pm

This thing has caused me so much grief, I don't want it anymore. Anybody who see's this can check out my other forum post who might want to buy it, that includes an IndyCam, and the SGI specific VGA adapter here: viewtopic.php?f=3&t=16729101 and my Ebay post here: http://www.ebay.com/itm/161492257207?ss ... 1558.l2649
Last edited by goldenamber on Thu Nov 20, 2014 4:02 pm, edited 5 times in total.

User avatar
japes
Donor
Donor
Posts: 990
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 4:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby japes » Tue Nov 11, 2014 2:59 am

Sorry to hear that it was frustrating. Hope you find your next challenge more rewarding.

Honestly the Indy wouldn't be much use for checking email and online activities these days. The internet has grown and left behind all the old hardware and software. Sometimes for the better and sometimes just for different.

If you change your mind you have a great machine for learning how to interact with the unix shell (command line interface). But I'm sure you realize a linux vm on a modern computer is probably 10 times faster.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :O3x0: :O3x02L: :O3x02L:

goldenamber
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Nov 06, 2014 6:01 pm

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby goldenamber » Tue Nov 11, 2014 7:25 am

It's ok, but I don't think I'm ever going to get another SGI machine again. If anyone can help me sell this machine, I'd be very happy.

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10433
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby hamei » Tue Nov 11, 2014 8:50 am

goldenamber wrote: I don't think I'm ever going to get another SGI machine again.

Better avoid Sun, too. They are even worse. And I don't know what language IBM speaks but it isn't English.

Old computers are a masochistic hobby ... SGI is not the worst of the bunch.
I spent a fortune on booze, birds, and fast cars ... the rest I just squandered

User avatar
bigD
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Internet Connection for Indy

Unread postby bigD » Tue Nov 11, 2014 12:47 pm

goldenamber wrote:It's ok, but I don't think I'm ever going to get another SGI machine again.


Yeah, I got the impression early on that you bit off a lot more than you can chew. Part of the reason many of us love these machines (and UNIX machines in general) is that there's a certain amount of discovery required to get one up and running properly. You seemed to want it to 'just work'. It's not an iPad.

You have a nice Indy, though - hopefully it'll sell soon. :)
:Onyx2: :Indigo2: :O3x0:


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest