Internet Setup O2

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
SAQ
Posts: 5776
Joined: Wed Jul 19, 2006 8:37 am
Location: Renton, WA

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby SAQ » Sat May 05, 2012 8:15 am

IRIX's DHCP client (Proclaim) doesn't ask for all the things that modern DCHP expects by default. In some cases it will work, in other cases unless you modify the config file you'll just get the IP address and none of the ancillary niceties such as default route, DNS servers, and the like.

Probably your easiest solution is to find the IP address of a machine in the network (most likely 10.0.0.something or 192.168.0.something). It will usually be low, so then you pick an address in the top end of the subnet (try .253 for the last number, keep the first four numbers the same). The default route will probably be the first four numbers followed by .1, as will be the first DNS. This will work because most home DHCP devices assign from the beginning of the subnet, and few home users have over 100 computers.

The subnet is the number of computers possible on that segment of the network. For your use it's probably 255.255.255.0 (class "C" network with 254 hosts possible).

Once you decide on your numbers just go through the System Manager network config screens.

Also make sure you're not using the "internet" port on your second router (the one connected to the O2) for anything. I don't think you want to mess with a routed network at home just yet.
"Brakes??? What Brakes???"

:Indigo: :Octane: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :PI: :O3x0: :ChallengeL: :O2000R: (single-CM)

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Sat May 05, 2012 9:50 am

Well, i bought myself a crossed utp cable, but the strange thing is that my Primary Network Interface won't stay on, i can enable it everytime
in Modify Network Settings wizard, but it goes right back to disabled. Without that...no internet. Is that a common problem with the O2?

During boot my O2 gives these messagees:

WARNING: IRIS's Internet address is the default.
Using standalone network mode

and

Warning: Internet Gateway web server running as root.
Use "chkconfig webface_apache off" to disable.

i hope that helps ;-)
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Sat May 05, 2012 10:04 am

josehill wrote:
My bet is that OP doesn't have the O2 configured correctly yet, i.e. the usual DHCP, default route, and subnet issues that a lot of folks who are new to IRIX networking bump into.


Yep, i am totally lost withis networking thing, maybe if i post all the necessary info someone could "talk"me thru ?
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby josehill » Sat May 05, 2012 11:59 am

Skysearcher wrote:Yep, i am totally lost withis networking thing, maybe if i post all the necessary info someone could "talk"me thru ?

I have to run out for the afternoon, but I can try to help later. As I understand it, (1) you are connecting your O2 via ethernet to your PC's ethernet port, (2) you are connecting your PC to the internet by making a wireless connection to the Zyxel router, and (3) you are trying to share the PC's connection to the Internet with your O2 via Windows Internet Connection Sharing. Correct?

Some basic questions:
(1) Which version of Windows are you using?
(2) Which version of IRIX are you using? (Type "uname -Ra" on the IRIX command line for the answer. Looking for something like "IRIX 6.3" or IRIX 6.5.x".)
(3) What is the internal address of your Zyxel router? It's probably something like 192.168.1.1. If you can logon to the Zyxel's web configuration page, it would be the numeric address of the page, or the Zyxel's "LAN address" once you get to the router's web page.

I'll be back online in a few hours, and I'll try to help then if no one has solved things before then.

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Sat May 05, 2012 1:20 pm

josehill wrote:
Skysearcher wrote:Yep, i am totally lost withis networking thing, maybe if i post all the necessary info someone could "talk"me thru ?

I have to run out for the afternoon, but I can try to help later. As I understand it, (1) you are connecting your O2 via ethernet to your PC's ethernet port, (2) you are connecting your PC to the internet by making a wireless connection to the Zyxel router, and (3) you are trying to share the PC's connection to the Internet with your O2 via Windows Internet Connection Sharing. Correct?


Correctomundo.

My Windows version: Windows 7, 64 bit
Irix version: 6.5.30m 07202013 IP32

and here is the full info from my Zyxel router:

Code: Select all

Host Name:    router
Model Name:    P-2812HNU-F1
MAC Address:    cc:5d:4e:1d:25:10
Firmware Version:    V3.10(TUE.3)
WAN 1 Information:     (VDSL WAN 1)
  - Mode:    IPoE
  - IP Address:    --.---.---.---
  - IP Subnet Mask:    255.255.224.0
  - Gateway:    82.168.255.254
  - DNS Servers:    195.241.77.55,195.241.77.58
WAN 2 Information:     (VDSL WAN 2)
  - Mode:    Bridge
  - IP Address:    
  - IP Subnet Mask:    
  - Gateway:    
  - DNS Servers:    
LAN Information:    
  - IP Address:    192.168.1.254
  - IP Subnet Mask:    255.255.255.0
  - DHCP Server:    Server
WLAN Information:    
  - Channel:    2
  - WPS Status:    Unconfigured
SSID1 Information:    
  - SSID:    Zy_private_H4RVE3
  - Status:    On
  - Security Mode:    WPA2-PSK


And my ipconfig /all from the PC:

Code: Select all

Windows IP-configuratie

   Hostnaam  . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ron-PC
   Primair DNS-achtervoegsel . . . . :
   Knooppunttype . . . . . . . . . . : hybride
   IP-routering turned on . . . . : no
   WINS-proxy turned on . . . . . : no
   DNS-achtervoegselzoeklijst. . . . : home

Wireless LAN-adapter voor Wireless networkconnection:

   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: home
   Discription. . . . . . . . . . . : Wireless Network USB Adapter 54g WL-608
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-0C-F6-56-1D-7C
   DHCP turned on . . . . . . . . : yes
   Autom. configuratie turned on  : yes
   Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::883d:f4cb:3745:3950%15(voorkeur)
   IPv4-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.50(voorkeur)
   Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
   Lease verkregen . . . . . . . . . : zaterdag 5 mei 2012 20:28:08
   Lease verlopen. . . . . . . . . . : zondag 6 mei 2012 20:28:08
   Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
   DHCP-server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 486542582
   DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-FE-C5-B2-00-0C-F6-56-1D-7C

   DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.1.254
                                       195.241.77.55
                                       195.241.77.58
   NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : turned on

Ethernet-adapter voor LAN-verbinding 2:

   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
   Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller #2
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 1C-6F-65-85-21-33
   DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : yes
   Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : yes
   Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::60e4:8491:b15:794e%14(voorkeur)
   Automatisch geconf.IPv4-adres . . : 169.254.121.78(voorkeur)
   Subnetmasker. . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.0.0
   Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . :
   DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 488402789
   DHCPv6-client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-16-FE-C5-B2-00-0C-F6-56-1D-7C

   DNS-servers . . . . . . . . . . . : fec0:0:0:ffff::1%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::2%1
                                       fec0:0:0:ffff::3%1
   NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : on

Tunnel-adapter voor 6TO4 Adapter:

   Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium disconnected
   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
   Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft 6to4 Adapter
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : no
   Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja

Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.home:

   Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium disconnected
   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel: home
   Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : no
   Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : yes

Tunnel-adapter voor LAN-verbinding* 9:

   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
   Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : no
   Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : yes
   IPv6-adres. . . . . . . . . . . . : 2001:0:5ef5:79fd:1074:18e8:3f57:fecd(voor
keur)
   Link-local IPv6-adres . . . . . . : fe80::1074:18e8:3f57:fecd%13(voorkeur)
   Standaardgateway. . . . . . . . . : ::
   NetBIOS via TCPIP . . . . . . . . : off

Tunnel-adapter voor isatap.{13DC69C4-64E6-4386-B5D1-8F79896D8B29}:

   Mediumstatus. . . . . . . . . . . : medium disconnected
   Verbindingsspec. DNS-achtervoegsel:
   Beschrijving. . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
   Fysiek adres. . . . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
   DHCP ingeschakeld . . . . . . . . : nee
   Autom. configuratie ingeschakeld  : ja


Yeah i know...most of it is in Dutch. Best i could do :oops: ;)

Thanks a million for the help !!
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Mon May 07, 2012 3:22 am

Nobody?
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5312
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby recondas » Mon May 07, 2012 3:35 am

Skysearcher wrote:
josehill wrote:My bet is that OP doesn't have the O2 configured correctly yet, i.e. the usual DHCP, default route, and subnet issues that a lot of folks who are new to IRIX networking bump into.


Yep, i am totally lost withis networking thing, maybe if i post all the necessary info someone could "talk"me thru ?

Basic networking setup (using the IRIX GUI):
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16724060&p=7328886&#p7328886
a little more if you plan to use DHCP:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16724526&p=7333371&#p7333371
and the gospel according to techpubs:
http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... 851-PARENT
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Mon May 07, 2012 6:35 am

recondas wrote:
Skysearcher wrote:
josehill wrote:My bet is that OP doesn't have the O2 configured correctly yet, i.e. the usual DHCP, default route, and subnet issues that a lot of folks who are new to IRIX networking bump into.


Yep, i am totally lost withis networking thing, maybe if i post all the necessary info someone could "talk"me thru ?

Basic networking setup (using the IRIX GUI):
viewtopic.php?f=10&t=16724060&p=7328886&#p7328886
a little more if you plan to use DHCP:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16724526&p=7333371&#p7333371
and the gospel according to techpubs:
http://techpubs.sgi.com/library/tpl/cgi ... 851-PARENT


Thanks gonna try it right now.
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5312
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby recondas » Mon May 07, 2012 7:06 am

Skysearcher wrote:
    (1) you are connecting your O2 via ethernet to your PC's ethernet port,
    (2) you are connecting your PC to the internet by making a wireless connection to the Zyxel router, and
    (3) you are trying to share the PC's connection to the Internet with your O2 via Windows Internet Connection Sharing.
Correct?

Correctomundo.
Correctomundo :D

If you don't have a good idea of how to get from here to there, that list of connections adds enough variables to the troubleshooting process to give even the Fonz a headache.

*If* you end up still having issues, you could always try the earlier recommendations to use (just a single) wireless bridge connected directly to your O2.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby josehill » Mon May 07, 2012 8:37 am

Skysearcher wrote:Yeah i know...most of it is in Dutch. Best i could do :oops: ;)

Thanks a million for the help !!

Hi Skysearcher,

Sorry for disappearing over the weekend. It was one of those weekends where nothing went according to plan. :(

Since it has been a while since I used Windows Internet Connection Sharing, I just ran through a network configuration using a Fuel and 64bit Windows 7 to make sure that I'm giving reasonable advice. I'm glad I did, since my memory was a little hazy. The basic idea is that Windows Internet Connection Sharing turns your PC into a DHCP server over its Ethernet port, and my example will configure your O2 as a DHCP client to the PC, which will automatically configure most of the Internet stuff for you, and then you will manually configure the O2 with a custom "Default Route" to your PC. You'll need administrator privileges on both the PC and the O2 in order to complete these tasks.

First, before you connect your O2 to the PC, go to the Windows PC and set up the Internet Connection Sharing stuff. To do this, open the Windows Control Panel, then find "Network and Sharing Center". Open "Network and Sharing Center", and click on "Change Adapter Settings". Find the icon for your wireless adapter (the WL-608), and either right click it or double click on it. Choose or double click on "Properties". Click on the "Sharing" tab, and click the button to "Allow other network users to connect through this computer's Internet connection".

Next, go to your O2. From the Toolchest go to System -> System Manager -> Networking and Connectivity -> Set Up and Start Networking. Make sure the Ethernet port is selected under "Select Net Interface." Go through the setup process, and select "Use DHCP Client." Keep clicking "Next" and apply your settings. At the end of the process, don't restart. (Well, you could, but your machine is still missing some key information for networking, so let's fill it in now.)

Go back to Toolchest -> System -> System Manager -> Networking and Connectivity, only now click on the "Modify Network Settings" link. You need to add a default route. For Windows 7 Internet Connection Sharing, you need to use your PC's Ethernet IP address as the default route. For Windows 7 machines, Windows Internet Connection Sharing sets that to 192.168.137.1 by default, so use that. Just click through the options on the IRIX "Modify Network Settings" panel until you get the option to add a default route, and then put in 192.168.137.1. (For people using Windows XP or earlier, it is 192.168.0.1. Not sure about Vista.) Keep clicking "Next," then hit "Okay" to save your settings, then reboot. Oh, yeah, before rebooting, make sure that you have connected your O2 to the PC via Ethernet! :D

After rebooting, you may be prompted to create a new environment, to copy an older one, or to link one. Probably "copy" is the best choice, or perhaps create a new one. If you choose the latter, don't worry if your desktop looks different. If you have problems with your desktop appearance, we can fix that in another thread. ;)

If all went well, you now should be up and running.

User avatar
recondas
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 5312
Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 5:55 pm
Location: NC - USA

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby recondas » Mon May 07, 2012 8:57 am

josehill wrote:I just ran through a network configuration using a Fuel and 64bit Windows 7 to make sure that I'm giving reasonable advice.
Nicely detailed! Got a feeling your write up is destined to be on the short list of references for networking help requests. I've added it one to my list of bookmarks.
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby josehill » Mon May 07, 2012 9:21 am

recondas wrote:Nicely detailed! Got a feeling your write up is destined to be on the short list of references for networking help requests. I've added it one to my list of bookmarks.

Thanks! I think I'll work it up into a wiki post. The only thing that I didn't have time to refresh my memory about was the consequences of new environments vs copied environments vs linked environments at the end. It has been a long time since I've dealt with that issue, and my recollection is that getting it wrong can cause fam to act up and a couple of other things that might spook a new user.

User avatar
Skysearcher
Posts: 45
Joined: Mon Apr 02, 2012 2:19 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby Skysearcher » Mon May 07, 2012 11:27 am

Thanks all for putting up with me and my internet problem. My O2 now has a connection to the internet. There were some small problems with my firewall but that got fixed.
Finally i can now download and install stuff on my SGI.

Respect to all that helped! :D
Last edited by Skysearcher on Mon May 07, 2012 1:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.
:1600SW: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2: :O2+: :Indigo: :Indigo: previously owned ---> :Onyx2: other stuff : Commodore Amiga A500, Commodore Vic-20 (2x)

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3044
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby josehill » Mon May 07, 2012 1:37 pm

Skysearcher wrote:Thanks all for putting up with me and my internet problem. My O2 now has a connection to the internet. But i have to disable my antivirus/firewall program first (Symantec Endpoint Protection) so somewhere in that program things are blocked. Any ideas before i disable my firewall?

I don't use Symantec Endpoint Protection, so I can't give specific instructions, but the idea would be to create an exception rule for Internet Connection Sharing (ICS) somewhere in your Symantec configuration. My guess is that there are instructions for that somewhere on the net, perhaps even on Symantec's site.

Another option: if you don't need specific features that are in the Symantec firewall but not in Win7, consider disabling the Symantec firewall stuff and enabling the Win7 firewall. The Win7 firewall should automatically handle ICS, and you can still use the antivirus/antimalware stuff from Symantec.

dyverize
Posts: 12
Joined: Mon Aug 13, 2012 3:21 pm

Re: Internet Setup O2

Unread postby dyverize » Mon Sep 10, 2012 7:35 am

I am looking at getting my O2 online and wondering if they will support DHCP by default or does everything have to be statically assigned. I am just connecting mine using ethernet to my router and getting the same message upon startup as skysearcher
WARNING: IRIS's Internet address is the default.
Using standalone network mode
Running IRIX 6.5.19. I am fairly new to IRIX and Sgi mostly using PC and Mac before this.


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: hjw3001 and 2 guests