Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Apr 23, 2014 6:27 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:09 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Connecticut, USA
After growing tired of using my O2 with a 1440x900 LCD in 1280x1024 mode, I decided to install the video format compiler and give it a go. It took a few iterations with various modelines I had googled (some of which were obviously quite broken from the start). In the end, the results were better than I could have hoped for, with no artifacts when moving or resizing windows, something which I had observed before when trying other .vfo files.

I'm running 6.5.22 and the bundled .vfo files don't seem to support much in the way of widescreen formats.
I'm wondering if perhaps there should be a download section on nekochan.net containing .vfs and .vfo files for various architectures and displays. It seems that a central repository for these would be a big help. Any thoughts?

Here's the .vfs I cobbled together to support the Samsung 920BW in its native 1440x900 resolution on my O2. Works beautifully with any of the framebuffer configurations in xsetmon. Disclaimer: I have about 1 hour of experience with this, so I won't claim I actually have a clue.

Code:
/*
** 1440x900_60_920BW.vfs - Samsung 920BW LCD
** Should work on the 920NW as well.  Both do SOG.
*/

General
{
    FieldsPerFrame = 1;
    FramesPerSecond = 60;
    TotalLinesPerFrame = 934;
    TotalPixelsPerLine = 1904;
    ActiveLinesPerFrame = 900;
    ActivePixelsPerLine = 1440;
    FormatName = "1440x900_60 Samsung 920BW";
}

Active Line {
    HorizontalFrontPorch = 80 pixels;
    HorizontalSync = 152  pixels;
    HorizontalBackPorch = 232 pixels;
}

Field
{
    Vertical Sync =
    {
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
        }
        repeat 3
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
        }
    }

    Initial Low;
    Vertical Back Porch =
    {
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
        repeat 28
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
    }

    Initial High;

    Active =
    {
        repeat 900
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
    }

    Vertical Front Porch =
    {
        repeat 1
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
    }
}

#if 0
    postprocess
    {
        dump edge;
    }
#endif


Charles

_________________
Octane2/Dual R12K-300/2GB/V6
Octane2/R12K-400/8GB/V8
O2/R5000SC-200/256M
Too many other computers...
Arduinos multiplying like rabbits.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2007 6:24 am 
Offline

Joined: Mon Sep 10, 2007 6:55 pm
Posts: 11
Location: Connecticut, USA
Oh, and by the way...

For those who, like me, are new to vfc, here's what I did to compile and install it on the O2:
Code:
-bash-3.1# vfc -c chip=/usr/gfx/ucode/vfc/rules/O2_Chip.def,board=/usr/gfx/ucode/vfc/rules/O2_Board.def 1440x900_60_920BW.vfs
-bash-3.1# mv a.vfo /usr/gfx/ucode/CRM/vof/1440x900_60_920BW.vfo

_________________
Octane2/Dual R12K-300/2GB/V6
Octane2/R12K-400/8GB/V8
O2/R5000SC-200/256M
Too many other computers...
Arduinos multiplying like rabbits.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed May 13, 2009 9:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Oct 06, 2006 5:44 pm
Posts: 44
Seems to work, but I get flashing and artifacts (especially WinTerm and GL stuff)

I have a 19.1" Dell LCD (1440x900 @ 60hz) and an Octane2 with VPro V8 (128MB) graphics using a 13W3 adapter.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun May 17, 2009 4:42 pm 
Offline

Joined: Fri Feb 08, 2008 1:11 pm
Posts: 258
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Are video formats specific to the machine they were made for ?

The original poster created that format for his O2 and you are trying it on an Octane with Vpro graphics .. would that be the cause of your woes ?

Mark

_________________
:Fuel:


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 14, 2009 5:52 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:37 am
Posts: 610
Location: Munich, Germany
@sparcdr: unfortunately you have to get used to this - v6 and v8 are somehow broken. The only mode that runs without problems is 1280x1024_50:

http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/index.php/Workaround_for_V6/V8_Flicker_and_Artifacts

perhaps it would make sense to upgrade/switch to v10, if 32mb vram is enough for you

_________________
:Octane: :Octane2: 2xR12000 400MHz, 4GB RAM, V12
SGI - the legend will never die!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Fri Jun 19, 2009 4:47 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 2:25 pm
Posts: 1591
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA
I don't think 32 mb of vram is enough for anybody... :lol:

_________________
Project:
Simple as do, re, mi. a, b, c. one, two, three baby you and me
Plan:
World domination! Or something...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 20, 2009 6:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu May 26, 2005 2:37 am
Posts: 610
Location: Munich, Germany
@vishnu: perhaps he is doing all the CAD stuff :-)

_________________
:Octane: :Octane2: 2xR12000 400MHz, 4GB RAM, V12
SGI - the legend will never die!!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Wed Jul 15, 2009 1:02 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:58 pm
Posts: 300
Location: San Diego, Ca
Great thread it helped me get our O2 running at 1600x900 with an HP 2009M monitor. I'll add a few details that I needed to make it extra easy.

1) Installing VFC. It is probably on your overlay disks, I had 6.5.22 and it was on Disk 2, select it and you will get 2 Conflicts which you can resolve by inserting the Foundation 2 disk.

2) Making you .vfs file to compile requires that you know all the back porch, front porch and sync details. To get these I used Switchres X on a mac plugged into the monitor to read the EDID data. There was an button to export the data and I did that then promptly uninstalled the software. Windows users could use something like Power Strip to get that data also. :Linux users can probably grab the info from Xorg logs.

3) I didn't read all the techpub docs so some of the vfs file is still a mystery and on my first try I was off my Vertical lines by 2 so I just changed the max to 1002 from 1000 and it compiled fine. I'm going to read up on it to make sure that it is ok but the picture looked very very nice so I'm happy.


Here was vfs file based on the other that was posted.
Code:
General
{
    FieldsPerFrame = 1;
    FramesPerSecond = 60;
    TotalLinesPerFrame = 1002;
    TotalPixelsPerLine = 1800;
    ActiveLinesPerFrame = 900;
    ActivePixelsPerLine = 1600;
    FormatName = "1600x900@60 LCD";
}
Active Line {
    HorizontalFrontPorch = 24 pixels;
    HorizontalSync = 80 pixels;
    HorizontalBackPorch = 96 pixels;
}

Field
{
    Vertical Sync =
    {
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
        }
        repeat 3
   {
            Length = 1.0H;
        }
    }

    Initial Low;
    Vertical Back Porch =
    {
        {
            Length = 1.0H;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
        repeat 96
   {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
    }

    Initial High;

    Active =
    {
   repeat 900
   {
       Length = 1.0H;
       Low = 0.0 usec;
       High = HorizontalSync;
   }
    }

    Vertical Front Porch =
    {
        repeat 1
   {
            Length = 1.0H;
            Low = 0.0 usec;
            High = HorizontalSync;
        }
    }
}



#if 0
    postprocess
    {
 dump edge;
    }
#endif


-Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 8:29 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 21, 2003 5:19 am
Posts: 724
If you want proper video timings for essentially everything but the 1600SW, try the VESA GTF spreadsheet. It'll calculate front/backporch, pixel clock etc. from horizontal and vertical resolution and the desired refresh rate.


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jul 18, 2009 9:31 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:58 pm
Posts: 300
Location: San Diego, Ca
Good tip... In this case it doesn't match the EDID from the monitor but I'm sure it would work Xorg comes with gtf so it's easy as pie.
Code:
[mgt@sirius ~]$ gtf 1600 900 60 -v
 1: [H PIXELS RND]             :     1600.000000
 2: [V LINES RND]              :      900.000000
 3: [V FIELD RATE RQD]         :       60.000000
 4: [TOP MARGIN (LINES)]       :        0.000000
 5: [BOT MARGIN (LINES)]       :        0.000000
 6: [INTERLACE]                :        0.000000
 7: [H PERIOD EST]             :       17.887533
 8: [V SYNC+BP]                :       31.000000
 9: [V BACK PORCH]             :       28.000000
10: [TOTAL V LINES]            :      932.000000
11: [V FIELD RATE EST]         :       59.983753
12: [H PERIOD]                 :       17.882690
13: [V FIELD RATE]             :       59.999996
14: [V FRAME RATE]             :       59.999996
15: [LEFT MARGIN (PIXELS)]     :        0.000000
16: [RIGHT MARGIN (PIXELS)]    :        0.000000
17: [TOTAL ACTIVE PIXELS]      :     1600.000000
18: [IDEAL DUTY CYCLE]         :       24.635193
19: [H BLANK (PIXELS)]         :      528.000000
20: [TOTAL PIXELS]             :     2128.000000
21: [PIXEL FREQ]               :      118.997757
22: [H FREQ]                   :       55.919998
17: [H SYNC (PIXELS)]          :      168.000000
18: [H FRONT PORCH (PIXELS)]   :       96.000000
36: [V ODD FRONT PORCH(LINES)] :        1.000000

  # 1600x900 @ 60.00 Hz (GTF) hsync: 55.92 kHz; pclk: 119.00 MHz
  Modeline "1600x900_60.00"  119.00  1600 1696 1864 2128  900 901 904 932  -HSync +Vsync


-Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 2:59 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:26 am
Posts: 2
Location: Washington, DC
mgtremaine, I'd love to say this worked for me, but alas, it didn't.. I have 2x 2009m's- i verified the same porch values in switchres, setup the vfs as it should be, and -lo and behold, the math added up fine but vfc errored out time and time againuntil i added 2 to the number of lines per frame- very odd... are there 2 lines that are getting tossed into the mix for no good reason?

in addition, I have a basic O2, no video addons, and my original attempt at a vfo, as well as yours produce odd results... basically- my attempt, before i found where to get the porches from was giving me a 1440x900 rendered screen at all bit depths, but there were 160 pixels missing from the LEFT of the display, so the left 160 pixels, i could move things into, the system sees them, etc, but they don't get output to the screen-

with the values you used in your vfs, which, as I say, match the values for my remade one exactly, I get a display of 1280x960 (verified with the OSD "information" option) which amounts to 60 black pixels at the top of the image, and 320 pixels chopped off the RIGHT side.

I'm not having the greatest luck here- is/was a 1600sw adapter card or the dcd in the o2 for this to work?
In the end, the system sees the resolutions, but the video chipset seems to freak out and not display except in established screen ratios...
thanks!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:16 pm 
Offline

Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2006 1:58 pm
Posts: 300
Location: San Diego, Ca
Not sure what to suggestion. The vfs file I posted is exactly what we are using and it works fine on the O2 we have. A bog standard 200mhz with 1GB of RAM O2. No adapter cards of anything else different. The boot screen is stretched of course but once you get to login it runs fine.

-Mike


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Apr 04, 2010 4:58 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Mar 31, 2010 6:26 am
Posts: 2
Location: Washington, DC
hm.. strange...
I'll keep playing around and see if i can find anything- I do get the default boot at 1024x768, but as you say it does change, but i still get the more or less un-rendered areas...
same 200mhz, but only 128mb - it's possible that the low system memory may account for what I'm seeing...


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Oct 16, 2010 2:25 am 
Offline

Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2010 6:20 am
Posts: 40
Hi there! Long time listener, first time poster!

Great thread. So to keep up the good work I'd like to share my experiences with
O2 VGA-DVI on HP LP2475W (native 1920x1200). This all started because my O2
and my screen weren't "autoadjusting" to the clock/phase very well at anything
over 1024x768, leading to a headache. The screen has and Image Control menu
item for adjusting the clock/phase timings but there wasn't enough play in the
setting to get it to stabilise the test image, explained here:

http://www.techmind.org/lcd/phasexplan.html

I found that pulling the modelines from xorg log (debian, lenny) I could tune a
vfc for the O2. This still wasn't perfect - auto adjust still wouldn't get it
right - but it did get near enough so that the clock/phase adjustment was
possible in the Image Control menu on the screen. I found I could get
1600x1000_60 and not feel sick. I expanded this little experiment after reading
about CVT, the follow on from GTF VESA standard, particularly the section
concerning Reduced Blanking (RB) lines.

http://www.uruk.org/~erich/projects/cvt/

As explained on the cvt project page the benefit of CVT + RB is that you can
run the same resolution at a lower clock, which theoretically means high
resolutions are possible on flat pannel displays - even with analog
connections.

So for the SGI O2,

* 1920x1200_60 32x32
Possible but you end up with the visual in the bottom right reflecting the
top left. But it works!
* 1920x1200_60 16x16
Possible, but a different effect - like horziontal noise tearing the visual.
* 1600x1200_60 32x32
Good, but my screen greys out Custom Scaling option and auto stretches the
display which I don't want. I also get a small part of the top left in the
bottom right.

My attention was therefore focused on 1600x1000, non-stretched as this is
acceptable for my use of my O2 (blender and terminals):

* 1600x1000_60 32x32 132.79MHz clock
My working resolution based on the monitor modeline
* 1600x1000_60 32x32 108.87MHz clock
My new working resolution based on CVT Reduced Blanking modeline !!!

I have the same visual at a lower clock. Blender works great and I'm hoping the
lower clock will mean the hardware is taxed less.

Modeline "1600x1000"x59.9 132.25 1600 1696 1864 2128 1000 1003 1009 1038 -hsync +vsync (62.1 kHz
Modeline "1600x1000_60.00_rb" 108.50 1600 1648 1680 1760 1000 1003 1009 1029 +HSync -Vsync

http://www.tamasi.org/irix/O2/vfc/1600/

I wrote a perl script to parse the modelines, compute the back/front porch and
then generate a vfs from a template.

./modeline template.tmpl < xorg.log

Use the lowest number version of the vfo file, ie

tamasi_1600x1000_60___1031.vfo <--- use this one
tamasi_1600x1000_60___1032.vfo
tamasi_1600x1000_60___1040.vfo
tamasi_1600x1000_60___1041.vfo

YMMV

See also tools/ for the cvt source and a compiled mips binary.

If there are any SGI O2 users still out there, I hope this helps!


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Mon Oct 18, 2010 5:34 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Mon Nov 10, 2003 4:17 pm
Posts: 2219
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks muchos for the info, rooprob! Hope you enjoy your O2. ;)

Ian.

_________________
(07/Mar/2014) WANTED! Dual Channel Display (DCD) option boards for O2, SGI PN 030-1296-002.
Please contact me asap if you have one or more available!
Email is best (mapesdhs@yahoo.com), or call +44 (0)131 476 0796, or PM.


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2  Next

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group