Bootpd not starting?

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
magellan
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:13 am
Location: Scotland

Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby magellan » Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:56 am

Hello,

I started to play around again with my O2 and tried to set it up as an installation server.

rsh and tftp are both up and running but bootp wouldn't start. It's uncommented in /etc/inetd.conf, chkconfig on, no other DHCP on the network. I couldn't find any related entry in /var/adm/SYSLOG and the command ps -eadlf|grep boot return no line.

What else can I check to investigate the bootpd issue?

Thank you.

Michael
:O2: :Indy: (KO) :Octane: (KO)

Looking for:
1600sw, O2 cam, Fuel

User avatar
duck
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby duck » Wed Feb 23, 2011 9:13 am

I assume you do know that since you run from inetd, you won't have an entry in ps unless it's actually talking to something?

magellan
Posts: 230
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2005 2:13 am
Location: Scotland

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby magellan » Wed Feb 23, 2011 3:07 pm

duck wrote:I assume you do know that since you run from inetd, you won't have an entry in ps unless it's actually talking to something?


Hello,

I actually didn't know that, so ps is out to troubleshoot the issue then. What about syslog? According to the bootp man page with the -d option should make some entries appears in syslog… the problem is there is nothing about it in syslog when I restart inetd or when I try to make bootp request.

So, where else can I check is my question…

Thank you.
:O2: :Indy: (KO) :Octane: (KO)

Looking for:
1600sw, O2 cam, Fuel

User avatar
duck
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby duck » Wed Feb 23, 2011 10:18 pm

I started looking at the irix bootp and it's very different from the bsd one I'm used to, but what I noticed was that the boot file must exist or else bootp will silently fail. I ran into another issue that seems a little baffling which is that somehow the bootp process hangs after having successfully replied, hogging the port.

User avatar
japes
Posts: 710
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 5:35 pm
Location: Lynnwood, WA

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby japes » Thu Feb 24, 2011 4:08 am

I followed these directions the first time, and now just do it from memory.
http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/ ... a_SGI_Fuel

I see it says I need bootpd but there are not instructions to configure it, leading me to believe it isn't really needed, or out of the box IRIX has everything set.

I always have done my installs on a network with a running DHCP server and maybe that's taking care of me. I don't even recall setting an IP in the prom like it says (but maybe I did).

To emphasize the lack of bootpd fiddling. I routinely take my external drive containing my IRIX bits and attach to a machine running IRIX, mount it as /dist, and install over the network whatever machine I need. The only configuration I ever make on the serving machine is the tftpd path. On the machine I'm installing I might set the IP in the prom. I've barely touched my IRIX cds in the last 5 years.
:O3000: :Fuel: :Tezro: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: <--challenge S

User avatar
duck
Posts: 553
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 6:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby duck » Thu Feb 24, 2011 5:51 am

Well, dhcpd talks bootp, so it could well take care of address handling. As for the boot file I suppose the prom just uses what you tell it to (it could even send the filename you give in the request and the bootp server just hands it back).

speac
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Feb 23, 2011 2:44 pm

Re: Bootpd not starting?

Unread postby speac » Thu Feb 24, 2011 8:40 am

according to my personal experience it is difficult to run dhcp and bootp simultaneously.
Try to run only bootp and put fixed ip in clients configurations.
At least you'll see if it comes from the bootp or from the dhcp/bootp link.
I experienced something similar and shooting down dhcp solved the problem.
It seems that you have to run dhcp directly from bootp, the installation of an dhcp3 or other server will not work.
Experienced on origin300 server under 6.5.30

Hope that will help


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests