Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby deBug » Sun Apr 12, 2009 9:49 am

I figured out how to get the fonts in IRX to display correctly if you are accessing your IRIX box using X over the network.

If you follow the Wiki entry "Headless desktop" http://www.nekochan.net/wiki/index.php/Headless_desktop
you will be able to remotely get the desktop of one your IRIX boxes and remote control it from a Linux or Windows Computer.
I use a thin client from HP with gives me a silent low power Xterminal to my IRIX boxes in another room
t5530.jpg
t5530.jpg (13.5 KiB) Viewed 684 times

The HP can run XDMP out of the box but I have also added the Xnest and Xephyr software as the thin client is running Linux Debian so it is easily done.

One drawback though was that the fonts didn't display correctly over the remote X connection.
For example the Toolchest font was not italic as it should have been.
Most software run OK with the exception of IRIX "Software Manager" that gave me a couple of error messages of missing fonts. And sure enough, the list of software did not display correctly.

To fix this problem I enabled the font server on the IRIX box:

Code: Select all

chkconfig fontserver on

After I enabled the fontserver I had to tell Xnest, X or Xephyr to use it.
E.g to start Xnest and remote control my octane2 that had a running fontserver I would type the following on my Linux box:

Code: Select all

Xnest :1 -fp tcp,octane2:7100 -query octane2

The "tcp,octane2:7100 " tell Xnest to get the fonts over the network from the computer with host name octane2 port 7100
This did something for sure, but it was actually worse!
The fonts in sub menus of Toolchest was all garbled.
And so was some other menus in other software. It was unusable and much worse than running without the fontserver.

The alternative to using a remote fontserver on the IRIX box is to copy them to the Linux box so they are available locally.
It took me few hours of "how-to" reading before I eventually was able to get it working. I though I share it here should someone else want to try the same.


1 Copy the fonts
Copy the IRIX fonts from your IRIX box to your Linux box.
You will find them at /usr/lib/X11/fonts on your IRIX 6.5 box.
I copied the 100dpi, 75dpi, CID, Speedo and misc sub folders.

I choose /usr/share/fonts/X11 as the destination folder on my Debian Linux.

2 Register the fonts on the Linux box.
To get them registered with the Linux X server I used the command:

Code: Select all

xset fp+ /path/to/fonts
for every IRIX folder added.
E.g.

Code: Select all

xset fp+ /usr/share/fonts/X11/100dpi
xset fp+ /usr/share/fonts/X11/75dpi
etc.

3 Tell the Linux X server to start using the newly added fonts.
I issued the command

Code: Select all

xset fp rehash
to tell the Linux X server to use the new fonts.

And now when I connect to IRIX computers with either X, Xnest or Xephyr the fonts displays correctly!


//deBug

Edit. fixed the destination Linux path to the fonts.
Last edited by deBug on Mon Apr 13, 2009 1:51 am, edited 1 time in total.
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:40 pm

Copy and pasted from this thread into the wiki entry above.

Regan
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby deBug » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:52 pm

PymbleSoftware wrote:Copy and pasted from this thread into the wiki entry above.

Regan

Thanks Regan!

One day I'll learn how to edit the wiki..
Mein Führer, I can walk!

User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1891
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:14 pm

deBug wrote:
PymbleSoftware wrote:Copy and pasted from this thread into the wiki entry above.

Regan

Thanks Regan!

One day I'll learn how to edit the wiki..


Its not hard, click on the login/create account link on the top of the wiki pages and then read this really simple guide:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/How_to_edit

Regan
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3429
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby guardian452 » Sun Apr 12, 2009 6:43 pm

Hehe. I just figured out the wnole remote X thing today. :mrgreen:

I've yet to get the fonts going (as you can see) but why is the picture off in the system manager? I thought those were bitmaps:
irix-remote.PNG


Could it be related to your garbled fonts in the toolchest?

Edit: I was just informed that it could also be a cygwin problem. Too bad the machine has gone back into GNDN mode for the week, or I would test with something else.

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby deBug » Mon Apr 13, 2009 4:07 am

sybrfreq wrote:I've yet to get the fonts going (as you can see) but why is the picture off in the system manager? I thought those were bitmaps:
irix-remote.PNG


Could it be related to your garbled fonts in the toolchest?


I have the same graphic problem in my System Manager even after I fixed my font problems.
So they are probably not related.

//deBug
Mein Führer, I can walk!

noisetonepause
Posts: 306
Joined: Mon Jan 29, 2007 5:57 pm
Location: Copenhagen - Denmark

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby noisetonepause » Mon Apr 13, 2009 5:49 am

X11 <3

Thanks for this!

User avatar
Thomas W.
Posts: 402
Joined: Tue Sep 09, 2003 11:54 pm
Location: Germany/NRW/Bonn

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby Thomas W. » Mon Apr 13, 2009 7:47 am

stupid question?... i don't know, but...

will this work with my O200? I ask, because there is no gfx-option in it...
:1600SW: :Onyx: :Onyx2: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :O2: :O2: :O2: :Octane: :Octane: :Octane2: :Octane2: :Fuel: :Fuel:

User avatar
deBug
Donor
Donor
Posts: 840
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2006 1:44 pm
Location: Sweden

Re: Getting fonts to work in IRIX when running remote X

Unread postby deBug » Mon Apr 13, 2009 9:36 am

Thomas W. wrote:stupid question?... i don't know, but...

will this work with my O200? I ask, because there is no gfx-option in it...


It sure will!
Just make sure you are running XDM on your O200

Code: Select all

chkconfig xdm on
Mein Führer, I can walk!


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest