TLB Refill Exception on IRIX installation

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

TLB Refill Exception on IRIX installation

Unread postby robinci » Fri Nov 17, 2006 2:54 pm

As I wrote in the Fuel Boot Menu Resolution thread, every time I try to start the IRIX installer (via Install System Software on the PROM menu and sash64 loaded from the IRIX CD) the CPU reports a TLB Refill Exception and the debugger comes up. I assume that "TLB" stands for "Translation Lookaside Buffer" which means that the CPU has problems with virtual -> physical address translation.

The system is a Fuel R14k/600 with no OS installed and PROM version 6.153. I'm using the 6.5.17 CDs.


Any suggestions?

User avatar
AX
Posts: 299
Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 9:18 pm
Location: Damascus, Oregon

Unread postby AX » Fri Nov 17, 2006 9:05 pm

Try .22m off the supportfolio site.

JR

robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

Unread postby robinci » Sat Nov 18, 2006 6:36 am

Try .22m off the supportfolio site.

I tried 6.5.30 but ran into problems creating a bootable (EFS) CD from the tars. I don't have another SGI here – just my Fuel, the 6.5.17 CD set and some OS 9/X Macs (apart from various other non-SGI systems)... :wink:

Edit: I know that I could do a network boot – but the (Fuel) network (interface) doesn't seem to work at the moment.
The "netaddr" environment variable is set correctly.

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Unread postby josehill » Sat Nov 18, 2006 2:12 pm

robinci wrote:I know that I could do a network boot – but the (Fuel) network (interface) doesn't seem to work at the moment.

How do you know that the interface is not working?

Glock
Posts: 291
Joined: Wed Jul 21, 2004 8:54 am

Unread postby Glock » Sat Nov 18, 2006 4:03 pm

robinci wrote:Edit: I know that I could do a network boot – but the (Fuel) network (interface) doesn't seem to work at the moment.
The "netaddr" environment variable is set correctly.


There's a lot more to a successful netbooting, than having the netaddr variable set (like enabling the guest-account and setting the correct permissions for the software repository, but I guess you know that already). Are you sure your NIC is not working?

Once you perform a net-install, you'll never go back to playing disc-jockey! :D
"What is understood, need not be discussed..." Loren Adams

robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

Unread postby robinci » Sat Nov 18, 2006 5:14 pm

There's a lot more to a successful netbooting, than having the netaddr variable set

Sure. But as far as I know, "netaddr" is the only network-related setting I can change in the PROM monitor that influences pure connectivity: I can't even ping the Fuel from another machine (and vice versa)...

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Unread postby porter » Sun Nov 19, 2006 3:17 am

robinci wrote:
There's a lot more to a successful netbooting, than having the netaddr variable set

Sure. But as far as I know, "netaddr" is the only network-related setting I can change in the PROM monitor that influences pure connectivity: I can't even ping the Fuel from another machine (and vice versa)...


1. Can you see the MAC address?

2. Can you set up a static ARP to ping it (ie mapping the MAC address to IP in the peer machine).

3. Can you put a network trace on the ethernet segment (ie, using tcpdump) and see if *anything* is happening?

User avatar
josehill
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 3257
Joined: Mon Jun 06, 2005 9:53 pm
Location: New England, USA
Contact:

Unread postby josehill » Sun Nov 19, 2006 7:01 am

porter wrote:1. Can you see the MAC address?

2. Can you set up a static ARP to ping it (ie mapping the MAC address to IP in the peer machine).

3. Can you put a network trace on the ethernet segment (ie, using tcpdump) and see if *anything* is happening?

...and because it happens to everybody sooner or later, are you sure that the cable and router port are both good?

robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

Unread postby robinci » Sun Nov 19, 2006 9:06 am

1. Can you see the MAC address?
2. Can you set up a static ARP to ping it (ie mapping the MAC address to IP in the peer machine).
3. Can you put a network trace on the ethernet segment (ie, using tcpdump) and see if *anything* is happening?

So here are the answers: :wink:

1. Yes, with tcpdump.
2. I've added the Fuel (permanently) to the ARP cache.
3. Yes, see above. Fortunately, tcpdump doesn't just report any activity but it shows exactly the packages I want it to: BOOTP requests...

...and because it happens to everybody sooner or later, are you sure that the cable and router port are both good?

Yes, I've checked that multiple times (in different constellations).

Thanks^10 for the tcpdump hint. I should have tried that before... :oops:


Any clues why the ping doesn't come through?

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Unread postby porter » Sun Nov 19, 2006 6:38 pm

robinci wrote:3. Yes, see above. Fortunately, tcpdump doesn't just report any activity but it shows exactly the packages I want it to: BOOTP requests..


So the box is making BOOTP requests?

Is it the correct source IP address?
Is anything responding to them?
Is the machine you expect to be responding running bootpd (or similar)

Are you running bootpd from inetd or standalone in a console window with debugging trace (hint, hint)?

robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

Unread postby robinci » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:01 am

Sorry for taking so long to post a reply but I had a lot of work to do in the past few days...

So the box is making BOOTP requests?
Is it the correct source IP address?
Is anything responding to them?

Yes.

Is the machine you expect to be responding running bootpd (or similar)

Of course.

Are you running bootpd from inetd or standalone in a console window with debugging trace (hint, hint)?

I'm running bootpd through launchd (Mac OS X 10.4).


bootpd works as expected. The Fuel receives the reply and starts to load sa(sh), but even with the 6.5.30 Overlays the same TLB Refill Exception occurs.
The miniroot boots without problems from the 6.5.17 CDs and the network (6.5.30), but – due to the fact that there is nothing installed on the Fuel – exits after trying to mount the root file system.


Basically, I'm pretty much where I had started... :wink:

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Unread postby porter » Sat Nov 25, 2006 6:56 am

robinci wrote:The miniroot boots without problems from the 6.5.17 CDs and the network (6.5.30), but – due to the fact that there is nothing installed on the Fuel – exits after trying to mount the root file system.


That is odd, you should be able to boot a miniroot with a trashed file system as that is how you rebuild the file system. What version of sash do you have installed in the initial bootstrap volume header of the target root disk, the one set up with dvhtool?

Have you read http://unix-docu.uibk.ac.at/zid/softwar ... idisk.html?

robinci
Posts: 14
Joined: Sat Nov 04, 2006 5:50 pm
Location: Europe/Germany

Unread postby robinci » Sat Dec 09, 2006 4:12 pm

What version of sash do you have installed in the initial bootstrap volume header of the target root disk, the one set up with dvhtool?

None. Is it possible to use dvhtool without an IRIX/Linux installation (including Linux Boot CDs)?
I've used fx to create the partitions/disk labels.

User avatar
porter
Posts: 2917
Joined: Wed Nov 01, 2006 10:37 pm
Location: NZ

Unread postby porter » Sat Dec 09, 2006 6:56 pm

robinci wrote:Is it possible to use dvhtool without an IRIX/Linux installation (including Linux Boot CDs)?


Yes, by running a miniroot from a CD-ROM or netbooted.

User avatar
uunix
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1685
Joined: Sun Mar 27, 2011 12:48 pm
Location: Stourbridge / England / UK

Re: TLB Refill Exception on IRIX installation

Unread postby uunix » Fri Oct 14, 2016 2:00 pm

hmmm 2006..

OK So I am trying a clean install on a FUEL and getting the OPs original issue:

Code: Select all

DIAG RESULTS:
         ALL DIAGS PASSED.
**** End System Configuration and Diagnostics Summary ****
System Maintenance Menu
1) Start System
2) Install System Software
3) Run Diagnostics
4) Recover System
5) Enter Command Monitor
Option? 2
                         Installing System Software...

                       Press <Esc> to return to the menu.
1) Remote Directory  2)[Local CD-ROM]
      *a) Local SCSI CD-ROM drive 6, on controller 1
Enter 1-2 to select source type, a to select the source, <esc> to quit,
or <enter> to start:
Insert the installation CD-ROM, then press <enter>:

A 000: *** TLB Refill Exception on node 0
A 000: *** EPC: 0xc00000001fc47e58 (0xc00000001fc47e58)
A 000: *** Press ENTER to continue.


I suspect it a CDROM issue. The latest original CD image I have is 6.5.7 which doesn't bomb out and I do get further:

Code: Select all

                         Installing System Software...

                       Press <Esc> to return to the menu.
1) Remote Directory  2)[Local CD-ROM]
      *a) Local SCSI CD-ROM drive 6, on controller 1
Enter 1-2 to select source type, a to select the source, <esc> to quit,
or <enter> to start:
Insert the installation CD-ROM, then press <enter>:
Copying installation program to disk.
......... 10% ......... 20% ......... 30% ......... 40% ......... 50%
......... 60% ......... 70% ......... 80% ......... 90% ......... 100%
Copy complete
Unable to load dksc(0,1,1)/unix: no such file or directory
Failed to boot
Press <Enter> to return to the menu:


May have to net install. 6.5.7 too early for FUEL? Pain as I have to set up a net server again.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Hey Ho! Pip & Dandy!
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :Indigo: :Indy:
-----------------------------------------------------------------------


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest