Getting outside the local net !?

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Pulsar
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 7:01 am
Location: France

Getting outside the local net !?

Unread postby Pulsar » Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:26 am

Hello Guys

i should do something wrong but don't know what exactly

how it's set actually:

the indigo 2 (irix 6.5) is plugged to the hub as the others computers using the onboard ethernet port and a pc running win xp act as the router to the net by using two net cards one to the cable modem the other to the hub
i don't use dhcp actually ,192.168.0.1 for the router and 192.168.0.7 for the I2

on the Sgi the route is 192.168.0.1 like all my other computers are set

no ip forwarding ,i added the dns of my provider
then there's the 3 buttons selections screen Nis/dns/file and vice versa
none actually works , what i don't anderstand is that i can ping the provider dns :!: so the route is working but i can't get outside, netscape and ftp can't connect to internet servers :?

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Thu Feb 20, 2003 8:18 am

I think is an issue with 6.5, I have the same probem connecting to the 'net until I isntall the overlays. I think there was a DNS bug in the base build that required them pathing it very early on, but al that is sorted out and fixed in all the overlays that came after taht point. I could be wrong, though, but I do have the same problem until the overlays get installed. Aftert that it works like a charm.

User avatar
Pulsar
Posts: 54
Joined: Sat Jan 25, 2003 7:01 am
Location: France

Unread postby Pulsar » Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:03 pm

well in fact it only works when i give the ip numbers of a site , not the name in netscape :cry:

the weird thing is that nslookup resolv outside ip in csh :o

i'll check the updates

thanks

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Thu Feb 20, 2003 4:10 pm

Yeah...

That sounds like the issue I was having with DNS.

orionpi
Posts: 110
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2003 12:58 am
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Unread postby orionpi » Thu Feb 20, 2003 10:03 pm

I've encountered that problem several times. My method for resolving it:
Edit /etc/nsswitch.conf save changes even if you don't make any
Edit /etc/resolv.conf save canges even if you dont' make any
make sure /etc/config/nsd contains the word "yes"
restart nsd killall -HUP nsd
pray
reboot[/i]


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests