DHCP Question

New to SGIs? Need help getting things going? This is the forum for you!
Forum rules
Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.
User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

DHCP Question

Unread postby Shtoink » Tue Feb 18, 2003 9:57 pm

If you have DHCP setup and you need to have it redetect for a new IP address, how do you go about it in IRIX?

I have a crappy 2 port router setup and I am gonna switch to a 4 port one with a built in switch so I can have more than one workstation of mine online ata time. I fiugre that if windows 98 can grab a different IP from the DHCP without restarting then there has to be a way to do it in IRIX. This is one of those things that have been tugging on my brain for a little while.

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Re: DHCP Question

Unread postby nekonoko » Tue Feb 18, 2003 10:10 pm

Okay, did some research. Keep in mind that using DHCP under IRIX is not something I've ever done myself.

It looks like the built in IRIX version of DHCP client may not be best out here. You could try using ISC DHCP:

http://ftp.mayn.de/pub/irix/networking/ ... rix.tar.gz

It works the same as under Linux so any Linux-DHCP HOWTO should work ...

http://www.linux.org/docs/ldp/howto/min ... tml#AEN355

Arghh, then I find this:

http://arsinfo.cit.buffalo.edu/FAQ/faq. ... 20Misc#121

How can I force the client to renew its lease?
Q: How can I force the client to renew its lease?
A: There is no such thing. Clients renew when they decide to, based on the length of the lease the server assigned to them. Once a client has a lease, the server can only reclaim it by refusing to renew it.


... so you might be in the same boat. If I read the above correctly, it's not possible to request a new IP short of the lease period under any version of UNIX. Anyway, this is more of a UNIX thing than an IRIX thing ... if you can find a solution that works under Linux for example the same thing would apply here.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:18 pm

I think I may have found what i needed

http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/cgi-bin/man-cgi?proclaim+1

Think this is worth giving a try?

User avatar
nekonoko
Site Admin
Site Admin
Posts: 8145
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:31 am
Location: Pleasanton, California
Contact:

Unread postby nekonoko » Fri Feb 21, 2003 9:56 pm

Shtoink wrote:I think I may have found what i needed

http://www.mcsr.olemiss.edu/cgi-bin/man-cgi?proclaim+1

Think this is worth giving a try?


I guess I misunderstood you ... I thought you were currently using proclaim and were trying to expire the lease to get a new IP without restarting proclaim.

Yes, proclaim is the stock IRIX DHCP client.
Twitter: @neko_no_ko
IRIX Release 4.0.5 IP12 Version 06151813 System V
Copyright 1987-1992 Silicon Graphics, Inc.
All Rights Reserved.

User avatar
Shtoink
Posts: 839
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2003 1:46 am
Location: Port Orchard, WA

Unread postby Shtoink » Fri Feb 21, 2003 11:44 pm

OK, now I am slightly confused...

I nerver knew of proclaim till today. I am going to be switching to a different router and It'll most certainly have a different IP range and setup than the puny 2port crapwad router i have connected currently. I'll need to be changing my I2's IP address some how. I was hoping to find a way to get it to send out a request for a new IP. I know that if you dink with any of the network settings IRIX tells you that you need to restart. I think that the SYSV engine purring away under the hood doesn't need to be rstarted.

All I need it to do is look for a new IP when it get's disconnected without having to restart.

User avatar
lisp
Posts: 274
Joined: Wed Feb 05, 2003 5:23 am
Location: England
Contact:

Unread postby lisp » Sat Feb 22, 2003 3:41 am

Surely if you just restart the dhcp client, it'll go and check it's lease with the dhcp server, which will tell it precisely what it can do with it's lease, and it'll end up getting a new one?
--
lisa


Return to “Getting Started, Documentation, Tips & Tricks”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest