Nekochan Net

Official Chat Channel: #nekochan // irc.nekochan.net
It is currently Wed Jul 30, 2014 9:13 am

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Forum rules


Any posts concerning pirated software or offering to buy/sell/trade commercial software are subject to removal.



Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 
Author Message
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 4:08 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:47 am
Posts: 3
hi guys , im a rookie around here and i need desperate help.

I saved some files from an O2 machine on an external hdd (ultrascsi 18gb).
did that just in time before O2 crashed.
now i need to copy that files to an O2+ machine in perfect shape (like new), attaching ext. hdd to it in Filesystem Manager appears like "/dev/dsk/xlv/volume 1" ,and no size reported(--).
when trying to mount it ,im getting "bad filesystem" message.

thank you


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 12:34 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 06, 2004 4:55 pm
Posts: 5190
Location: NC - USA
walther wrote:
hi guys , im a rookie around here
Welcome to nekochan, walther.

walther wrote:
"/dev/dsk/xlv/volume 1"
If the external disk contains the complete original extended logical volume (/dev/dsk/xlv/volume 1), then you might find this post by josehill helpful:
viewtopic.php?f=7&t=16653&#p129966

_________________
***********************************************************************
Welcome to ARMLand - 0/0x0d00
running...(sherwood-root 0607201829)
* InfiniteReality/Reality Software, IRIX 6.5 Release *
***********************************************************************


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:38 pm 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:47 am
Posts: 3
thanks for fast reply.
as i said before i im starting learning this from scratch.
how can i find O2+ hostname?
how can i check (step by step) if xlv function is enable?
when i saved files that i need from old O2 ,i just mounted external scsi , set the permissions and everything had gone well.


please be gentle with a dumb head


Top
 Profile  
 
Unread postPosted: Sun Jun 24, 2012 8:52 am 
Offline

Joined: Sat Jun 23, 2012 3:47 am
Posts: 3
just did it !
had to enter in root mode ,checked xlv who was on,and changed nodename.

thanks again


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 4 posts ] 

All times are UTC - 8 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Group