your latest purchase

For friendly off topic discussion not covered in a forum above.
Forum rules
No politics, please.
User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2096
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Feb 11, 2017 11:44 am

Impressive, those do only have 2D graphics.


No, the Ultra-3 has an ATI Rage Mobility M1, which Solaris treats as a PGX64. It's not very powerful (it's essentially a gimped Rage Pro), but it's there. The problem is that Solaris doesn't support 3D acceleration for this chip even though it's perfectly capable of it.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
jirka
Donor
Donor
Posts: 211
Joined: Tue May 04, 2004 7:55 am
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby jirka » Sat Feb 18, 2017 6:43 am

Two new things: the Silicon Graphics Indy Presenter (1024 - butunfortunatale it doesn't work: it is detected correctly by the "hinv" command but screen is black for all times...) and the Bar Code Reader for the PSION Organiser II (http://archive.psion2.org/org2/barman.htm - and this thing works well!).
:O2: :O2: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: :Indigo:

User avatar
ScutBoy
Donor
Donor
Posts: 142
Joined: Sat Sep 19, 2009 3:13 pm
Location: Northfield, MN USA

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby ScutBoy » Sat Feb 18, 2017 7:15 am

Received this week a Radius Rocket card. Now need to decide which machine to put it in!
:O2: :Indigo: :Cube: Image

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2096
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sat Feb 18, 2017 10:45 am

Got an almost full Apple TechStep kit (the famous official test rig for pre-040 Macs). It has the unit, the case, the cables, the A/C adaptors, CPU Tests Vol 1-3 ROMs and the SCSI Disk Tests ROM, and all software and corresponding manuals, plus a bumper crop of official Apple Service Guides (including what looks like a full set of LaserWriter service manuals). The only thing it's missing is CPU Tests Vol 4, which is a shame, since I have some systems that ROM cartridge covers.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

robespierre
Posts: 1573
Joined: Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:28 pm
Location: Boston

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby robespierre » Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:16 am

Nice! The TechStep is trve cvlt.
Some information on how it works: https://mac68k.info/wiki/display/mac68k/Diagnostic+Mode
:PI: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
smj
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1666
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2007 7:54 pm
Location: Berkeley, CA, USA, NA, Earth, Sol
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby smj » Sat Feb 18, 2017 11:18 pm

An ActionTec C2000A VDSL modem/router. Because it should be able to bond two lines and act as a transparent bridge, which my ISPs box refuses to do while costing $6.50/month for the privilege...

A new PSU for the Rackable SE3016 JBOD - Win-Tact WP502F12. Didn't do a ton of research, but this should be pretty close.
Then? :IRIS3130: ... Now? :O3x02L: :A3504L:- :A3502L: :1600SW:+MLA :Fuel: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: ... Other: DEC :BA213: :BA123: Sun, DG AViiON, NeXT :Cube:

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany, Europe
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby tomvos » Sun Feb 19, 2017 12:57 am

Image

Now I need a flickerfixer and joysticks. :D
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

tingo
Donor
Donor
Posts: 319
Joined: Sat Jun 26, 2010 5:40 pm
Location: Oslo, Norway

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby tingo » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:05 am

Krokodil wrote:Got a copy of AmigaOS 4.1 FE from Hyperion for about $40 CDN. It took years but it's finally possible to run it acceptably on WinUAE and not just on overpriced, obsolete, hard to find hardware.

Interesting. I have a Amiga Forever setup on my main FreeBSD workstation, but I haven't used in in ages. Same as my X1000 with AmigaOS 4.1 .-/
Torfinn

User avatar
Raion-Fox
Donor
Donor
Posts: 1395
Joined: Thu Jan 30, 2014 5:01 pm
Location: near King George, Virginia
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby Raion-Fox » Sun Feb 19, 2017 6:49 am

I gave up on AmigaOS. The complete lack of security, no TCP/IP support by default, the circlejerk the users have for the 68000 family, which was a great CPU for the time but has languished mostly since the Pentium era besides a few semi compatible coldfire CPUs. The hardware is much more costly to own than SGI and is super unreliable compared to even SGI, my old Octane booted up Everytime and the Fuel is a little more bitchy yes but the Indy and Challenge S boot up fine and the OS's excellent network support, smp performance, graphics performance and speed far surpass even a tricked out Amiga 4000T 060/604e POC card.
:O3x02L: R16000 700MHz 8GB RAM kanna
:Octane: R12000 300MHz SI 896MB RAM yuuka
:Octane2: R12000A 400MHz V6 2.5GB RAM
:Indy: (Acclaim) R4600 133MHz XL Graphics 32MB RAM
:Indy: (Challenge S) R4600 133MHz (MIPS III Build Server)
Thinkpad R40 Pentium M 1.5GHz 2GB RAM kasha

Owner and operator of http://irix.pw

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2096
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Sun Feb 19, 2017 2:54 pm

Nice A1200HD (that looks like an Escom?). I had a Commodore A1200 but I couldn't figure out what to do with it (I was mostly a Commodore 8-bit guy) and I got $200 for it, which I really needed as a starving medical student. Later that year I got a Mac IIsi.

Now I have a QuikPak A4000T and it's cool, but it's mostly just a toy. I'm not sure I would have done a lot with it back in the day either.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
tomvos
Donor
Donor
Posts: 134
Joined: Fri Jul 04, 2008 1:08 pm
Location: Aachen, Germany, Europe
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby tomvos » Sun Feb 19, 2017 11:05 pm

It's the ESCOM model with the floppy drive fix included. So it's very close to the Commodore original A1200.
:Fuel: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy:
Where subtlety fails us we must simply make do with cream pies.

Shiunbird
Donor
Donor
Posts: 406
Joined: Fri May 06, 2016 1:43 pm
Location: Czech Republic

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby Shiunbird » Mon Feb 20, 2017 1:18 am

ScutBoy wrote:Received this week a Radius Rocket card. Now need to decide which machine to put it in!


This is great!
Share some uses and results when you have it up and running!
ImageImage

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby Krokodil » Mon Feb 20, 2017 2:50 pm

tingo wrote:
Krokodil wrote:Got a copy of AmigaOS 4.1 FE from Hyperion for about $40 CDN. It took years but it's finally possible to run it acceptably on WinUAE and not just on overpriced, obsolete, hard to find hardware.

Interesting. I have a Amiga Forever setup on my main FreeBSD workstation, but I haven't used in in ages. Same as my X1000 with AmigaOS 4.1 .-/


Yeah, Amiga Forever is cool. I have 2016 on my Windows 7 computer. I was considering buying an Amiga 4000(located very close to me). But the Ebay price skyrocketed and then I found a purple Indigo2 instead for far less money. Kinda dumb that AmigaOS4 has no memory management. Leads to web browser taking out the whole system routinely.

Raion-Fox wrote:I gave up on AmigaOS. The complete lack of security, no TCP/IP support by default, the circlejerk the users have for the 68000 family, which was a great CPU for the time but has languished mostly since the Pentium era besides a few semi compatible coldfire CPUs. The hardware is much more costly to own than SGI and is super unreliable compared to even SGI, my old Octane booted up Everytime and the Fuel is a little more bitchy yes but the Indy and Challenge S boot up fine and the OS's excellent network support, smp performance, graphics performance and speed far surpass even a tricked out Amiga 4000T 060/604e POC card.


Yeah. The lack of memory management is highly annoying. It's fine for properly designed applications, but it gets harder and harder to do that with complex applications. So the browser often kills the entire system. Seems to be stuck on 10/10 Ethernet too. So the internet is almost useless with it.

The cost of bringing an Amiga up to it's full potential is much greater than I was willing to spend. That's why I opted for a nice Indigo2 which actually arrived this afternoon. Amiga emulation is quite mature now, so there's really little need to buy the hardware just to play around with the OS.

I much prefer UNIX, where life is good.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:

User avatar
ClassicHasClass
Donor
Donor
Posts: 2096
Joined: Wed Jul 25, 2012 7:12 pm
Location: Sunny So Cal
Contact:

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby ClassicHasClass » Tue Feb 21, 2017 11:37 am

I think the total amount I sank into my A4000T, which has a 56MHz '060, Ethernet, a Picasso IV RTG card, a Jaz and a CD-ROM, was about $1700. Don't get me wrong, I like the machine, I enjoy AmigaOS on a conceptual level, and the unit is fun to mess around with. But I don't get a lot out of it other than playing WHDLoad games and fiddling with NetSurf, and if I want a PowerPC-based computer, I have Power Macs already that do substantially more and do it faster for much less money.

I still think the Amiga could have been really special, but that time was 1987, when Commodore had their heads so far up their corporate recta that they could see out their own eyeballs.

On a brighter note, I have a crapload of Solbourne stuff on the way in. Let's hope it arrives better than that S3000 did.
smit happens.

:Fuel: bigred, 900MHz R16K, 4GB RAM, V12 DCD, 6.5.30
:Indy: indy, 150MHz R4400SC, 256MB RAM, XL24, 6.5.10
:Indigo2IMP: purplehaze, 175MHz R10000, Solid IMPACT
probably posted from Image bruce, Quad 2.5GHz PowerPC 970MP, 16GB RAM, Mac OS X 10.4.11
plus IBM POWER6 p520 * Apple Network Server 500 * RDI PrecisionBook * BeBox * Solbourne S3000 * Commodore 128 * many more...

User avatar
Krokodil
Donor
Donor
Posts: 478
Joined: Fri Apr 17, 2015 2:32 pm
Location: The House of Particular Individuals

Re: your latest purchase

Unread postby Krokodil » Tue Feb 21, 2017 12:06 pm

ClassicHasClass wrote:I think the total amount I sank into my A4000T, which has a 56MHz '060, Ethernet, a Picasso IV RTG card, a Jaz and a CD-ROM, was about $1700. Don't get me wrong, I like the machine, I enjoy AmigaOS on a conceptual level, and the unit is fun to mess around with. But I don't get a lot out of it other than playing WHDLoad games and fiddling with NetSurf, and if I want a PowerPC-based computer, I have Power Macs already that do substantially more and do it faster for much less money.



AmigaOS is certainly a fun toy to play with.
:Octane2: - :O2: - :Octane: - :Indigo2IMP:


Return to “Everything Else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests