My new computer room

For friendly off topic discussion not covered in a forum above.
Forum rules
No politics, please.
User avatar
PymbleSoftware
Posts: 1893
Joined: Tue Jul 15, 2008 5:48 pm
Location: P.O. Box 529, Gordon, Sydney, NSW 2072, Australia.
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby PymbleSoftware » Tue Dec 04, 2012 11:06 pm

6 racks and couple Tezros and you won't be able to swing a cat. Been there... Not the cat thing, the 6 rack thing.


R.
死の神はりんごだけ食べる

開いた括弧は必ず閉じる -- あるプログラマー

:Tezro: :Tezro: :Onyx2R: :Onyx2RE: :Onyx2: :O3x04R: :O3x0: :O200: :Octane: :Octane2: :O2: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :PI: :PI: :1600SW: :1600SW: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy:
:hpserv: J5600, 2 x Mac, 3 x SUN, Alpha DS20E, Alpha 800 5/550, 3 x RS/6000, Amiga 4000 VideoToaster, Amiga4000 -030, 733MHz Sam440 AmigaOS 4.1 update 1.

HP C7000 BladeSever with 16 Blades 96Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade
HP C3000 Blade Server with 8 Blades 48Gb to 144Gb RAM per blade

Sold: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Indigo: Tandem Himalaya S-Series Nonstop S72000 ServerNet.

Twitter @PymbleSoftware
Current Apps (iOS) -> https://itunes.apple.com/au/artist/pymb ... d553990081
(Android) https://play.google.com/store/apps/deve ... +Ltd&hl=en
(Onyx2) Cortex ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Cortex-th ... 11?sk=info
(0300s) Minnie ---> http://www.facebook.com/pages/Minnie-th ... 02?sk=info
Github ---> https://github.com/pymblesoftware

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5071
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby jan-jaap » Wed Dec 05, 2012 2:21 am

bigD wrote:That pic of the desk with the Onyx2 deskside underneath and a Tezro on top is pure, unadulterated, geek porn.

I'll try to take a better picture some time :) Haven't figured out where to put the DMedia breakout and assorted stuff yet, though. Storage is mostly FC so will probably end up in the 19" rack.

PymbleSoftware wrote:6 racks and couple Tezros and you won't be able to swing a cat. Been there... Not the cat thing, the 6 rack thing.

That's why I have desksides. Same challenges [pun intended], but more manageable in terms of space, power, heat and noise. More fun per square meter, in the end. I once considered replacing my Onyx2 deskside and the SGI 2100 I used to have with an Onyx2 rack to save floor space. Bad idea: the tall rack takes the same amount of floor space as two desksides (and is 3x taller, of course).

I've got 25 square meters to myself for my hobby, and that will have to do. It's also my escape from a house cluttered with kids toys and other joys of family life. If this room would be packed until I wouldn't be able to 'swing a cat' I think I would go insane. Better to maintain some discipline and keep only stuff worth keeping ;)

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby duck » Wed Dec 05, 2012 8:30 am

Fly me over and I'll take you a 360x180 degree panorama you can stick in a VR player (Yes, I got a new toy, a Nodal Ninja 3 MK II. I like to do this sort of thing (tmp url, may go away) :-)

Code: Select all

___(o)=
\____)

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3378
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby vishnu » Wed Dec 05, 2012 9:27 am

duck wrote:Yes, I got a new toy, a Nodal Ninja 3 MK II. I like to do this sort of thing (tmp url, may go away) :-)
Wow, that's an amazing pic! :shock:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby Pontus » Thu Dec 06, 2012 1:14 am

Looking good jan-jaap. It's coming together.

Me, I'm at this stage: Image
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby duck » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:47 am

vishnu wrote:
duck wrote:Yes, I got a new toy, a Nodal Ninja 3 MK II. I like to do this sort of thing (tmp url, may go away) :-)
Wow, that's an amazing pic! :shock:


Thanks! I will be taking more as work/cat allows... Have made some before, but before the ninja they all had a
lot of misalignments due to parallax shifts. In case it's not totally obvious, it's a stereographic projection of a 37 image stitched panorama (I use a 14mm lens so quite few pictures). Original resolution is just over 12000x12000 pixels.

Pontus wrote:Looking good jan-jaap. It's coming together.

Me, I'm at this stage: <snip>


Ooh, raised flooring... Expensive, no doubt?

Code: Select all

___(o)=
\____)

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby Pontus » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:51 am

duck wrote:Ooh, raised flooring... Expensive, no doubt?
Free actually :) It's used and quite ugly. I had to buy new legs though since the old ones were to short, but that was only about 3-400 dollars.
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

sgtprobe
Posts: 333
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 11:18 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby sgtprobe » Thu Dec 06, 2012 6:53 am

duck wrote:Fly me over and I'll take you a 360x180 degree panorama you can stick in a VR player (Yes, I got a new toy, a Nodal Ninja 3 MK II. I like to do this sort of thing (tmp url, may go away) :-)




That's just awesome.

Show us more, please :lol:

/Jonas
Image Image Image Image Image Image

-----------------
Old polygon wrangler
___________________
http://www.edgeloop.se

User avatar
duck
Donor
Donor
Posts: 764
Joined: Mon Oct 27, 2003 5:22 pm
Location: Jakobstad, Finland
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby duck » Thu Dec 06, 2012 9:19 am

sgtprobe wrote:
duck wrote:Fly me over and I'll take you a 360x180 degree panorama you can stick in a VR player (Yes, I got a new toy, a Nodal Ninja 3 MK II. I like to do this sort of thing (tmp url, may go away) :-)


That's just awesome.

Show us more, please :lol:

/Jonas


I'll fork off a thread when I have more (The old ones are crap, you don't want to see them *waves hand*)

Code: Select all

___(o)=
\____)

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10535
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby hamei » Fri Dec 07, 2012 9:06 pm

A little weekend relaxation at jan-jaap's house ...

retroputing.jpg

User avatar
silicium
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Oct 04, 2007 2:27 am
Location: Périgord, France

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby silicium » Thu Jan 10, 2013 11:31 am

Pontus wrote:I had to buy new legs though since the old ones were to short, but that was only about 3-400 dollars.

Raised floor looks impossible in my short basement where a tall rack would barely fit. I will screw cable trays on walls.
:Indigo2IMP:extreme :Octane2:V8 :O200: :Onyx2:IR2e

User avatar
jan-jaap
Donor
Donor
Posts: 5071
Joined: Thu Jun 17, 2004 11:35 am
Location: Wijchen, The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby jan-jaap » Thu Jan 10, 2013 12:41 pm

silicium wrote:Raised floor looks impossible in my short basement where a tall rack would barely fit. I will screw cable trays on walls.

I thought about a raised floor. Briefly. I think it's useful in two scenarios:

1) You want to access racks from all sides. I don't have the space for that. I have to pull my rack from the wall to access the back side but I don't expect this to happen often. Cables to/from the rack are bundles in a fat 'umbilical cord' to keep it tidy. This also means I can't reach the power switches (on the back of most equipment!), btw. I intend to solve this with a remotely operated PDU (APC AP7951 or similar)

2) You have a very large room and need to cross it diagonally rather than go along the walls. This doesn't apply to me either: 15m CAT6 cables are only a couple of bucks more than e.g. 3 or 5m cables. I was lucky to buy a lot of 15m long FDDI cables for cheap too :)

The cable gutter is just my way to get the cables out of sight.

Right now I'm busy wiring the network. I have basic networking in the new room, and the server has been relocated. I have 4*CAT6 SFTP to the utility cabinet where the FTTH endpoint is, and the switch which distributes network to the rest of the house. When this house was constructed they installed telephone cables to the living room, and every bedroom on the first floor. I'm busy replacing this with two CAT5E cables per room (twice CAT6 SFTP doesn't fit in a 15mm pipe, and I want shielded cables). A major infrastructure overhaul :) I will be able to use these for networking, but also digital TV etc etc. Time will tell.

Had to suspend my work on the network last weekend because we had a small invasion of mice in the house. When the annex was constructed the pierced the walls in several places to pass electricity, heating and water through. They made some pretty big holes and it appears the mice found out about them. I've cemented all of them and trapped several mice (all, hopefully). In spring we're getting cats again. :P

User avatar
hamei
Posts: 10535
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 4:10 pm
Location: over the rainbow

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby hamei » Thu Jan 10, 2013 6:33 pm

jan-jaap wrote: I intend to solve this with a remotely operated PDU (APC AP7951 or similar)

Kind of a cool unit. However, you can do the same thing with standard ol' home automation stuff and a Cisco router :)

Pontus
Posts: 695
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 12:12 pm
Location: Uppsala, Sweden

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby Pontus » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:41 pm

The main reason for getting raised floor for me is the uneven floor. Here are some pictures of my slow progress:

http://www.update.uu.se/~pontus/slask/garage/
:Onyx2R: :IRIS3130: :Crimson: :4D310: :Onyx2: :O2000: :O200: :PI: :Fuel: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :Indy: :1600SW: :320: :pdp8e:
:BA213: <- MicroVAX 3500 :BA213: <- DECsystem 5500 :BA215: <- MicroVAX 3300
Pictures of my collection: www.pdp8.se

User avatar
vishnu
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3378
Joined: Sun Mar 18, 2007 3:25 pm
Location: Minneapolis, Minnesota USA

Re: My new computer room

Unread postby vishnu » Fri Jan 11, 2013 12:58 pm

Pontus wrote:The main reason for getting raised floor for me is the uneven floor. Here are some pictures of my slow progress:

http://www.update.uu.se/~pontus/slask/garage/

:shock:

What the heck is that thing that looks like a giant chiller unit? :?: :?: :?:
Project:
Temporarily lost at sea...
Plan:
World domination! Or something...

:Tezro: :Octane2:


Return to “Everything Else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest