Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

For friendly off topic discussion not covered in a forum above.
Forum rules
No politics, please.
User avatar
zackwatt
Posts: 460
Joined: Sun Mar 01, 2009 9:53 am
Location: Kentucky

Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby zackwatt » Tue Sep 01, 2009 1:11 pm

It has been a while sense we have had one of these threads. Here is my setup and SGI collection.

Lets See Yours....

IMG_6108.jpg

IMG_5902.jpg
:Octane2: :Octane2: :Octane: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2: :O2: :O2+:

Octane2 2x600 V12 8GB
- Octane2 600 V12 2GB - Octane 2x400 V10 2GB
Indigo² 195 Max Impact 386MB - Indigo² 250 Extreme 386MB
O2 350 CRM 256MB - O2+ 400 CRM 512MB

"I'm totally unappreciated in my time. You can run this whole park from this room, with minimal staff, for up to three days. You think that kind of automation is easy? Or cheap? You know anybody who can network eight Connection Machines and de-bug two million lines of code for what I bid this job? Because if you can, I'd love to see him try."

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6528
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby foetz » Tue Sep 01, 2009 2:28 pm

we have a gallery for that

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Tue Sep 01, 2009 5:57 pm

I don't have this setup anymore (moved out and put most of my babies in storage), but this setup will exist again someday, and more.

Not pictured: Crimson, SPARCstation 10, and a half-dozen PeeCees & laptops.

Computers.jpg
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6528
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby foetz » Tue Sep 01, 2009 7:51 pm

ajerimez wrote:I don't have this setup anymore (moved out and put most of my babies in storage), but this setup will exist again someday, and more.

Not pictured: Crimson, SPARCstation 10, and a half-dozen PeeCees & laptops.

Computers.jpg


is that a mac on the left? :P

User avatar
bigD
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby bigD » Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:44 pm

foetz wrote:is that a mac on the left? :P


I see three. An LC/Performa (or Quadra 605?), a Color Classic, and what I think might be a Radius clone. :mrgreen:
:Onyx2: :Indigo2: :O3x0:

User avatar
pentium
Posts: 4724
Joined: Mon Aug 28, 2006 6:29 pm
Location: Kamloops, BC

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby pentium » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:39 pm

No way to take photographs here. It's a freaking mess! @_@
:Crimson: :Onyx: :O2000: :O200: :O200: :PI: :PI: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Indigo: :Octane: :O2: :1600SW: :Indigo2: :Indigo2: :Indigo2IMP: :Indigo2IMP: :Indy: :Indy: :Indy: :Cube:

Image <-------- A very happy forum member.

User avatar
QuicksilverG4
Posts: 771
Joined: Sun Nov 07, 2004 3:59 pm
Location: West of Philadelphia Pennsylvania, USA
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby QuicksilverG4 » Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:42 pm

bigD wrote:... and what I think might be a Radius clone. :mrgreen:


Radius 8100/110, clone of the 8100 right? :) Those are built like tanks.

Have you done any mods to the Color Classic?

User avatar
SiliconClassics
Posts: 1472
Joined: Sun Apr 11, 2004 5:07 pm
Location: New York
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Wed Sep 02, 2009 4:00 am

Good eyes, yes! Radius 81/110, which is indeed an 8100 clone. It runs MacOS 7.6.1 and contains a SuperMac Thunder 24, an FWB Jackhammer SCSI card, and a VideoVision video capture board with the Studio upgrade. It's a very solid system - nice thick metal case. I've got ElectricImage, Strata Studio Pro, and Lightwave 3D 5.6 installed on it, with a bunch of other graphics apps and games. Runs very nicely and is very useful for care and feeding of the other Macs.

The Color Classic is stock, with an 80MB HDD (still works!), an ethernet board, and the maximum 10MB of memory (actually 12MB but the last 2MB are unusable). Bought it for $40 from a thrift store in Los Angeles about six years ago, which explains the suntan :) It runs MacOS 7.1 and is so damn slow that it's really only useful for word processing. Interesting note - it was playing dead recently, refusing to power up, but leaving it plugged in for several days was enough to "refresh the capacitors" (or whatever), so it finally booted.

The third Mac is a Performa 466 running MacOS 7.5.3. It's also maxed-out: 36MB RAM, ethernet, 68882 FPU. It's a pretty unremarkable system, but it does make for a decent vintage gaming machine. I also found it in a thrift store in Los Angeles - it had never been used.

Not shown: my 12" iBook G4, 17" PowerBook G4, and a Quadra 700 running A/UX, maxed-out with 64MB of RAM. Very cute system, if not very useful. Would be fun to turn it into a web server someday and list it here.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

User avatar
ItsMeOnly
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: Warszawa, Poland
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby ItsMeOnly » Thu Sep 03, 2009 12:07 pm

Everyone sort of knows mine, but what the heck:
Image

User avatar
bigD
Posts: 466
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2008 8:38 pm
Location: Philadelphia

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby bigD » Thu Sep 03, 2009 1:13 pm

ajerimez wrote:The third Mac is a Performa 466 running MacOS 7.5.3. It's also maxed-out: 36MB RAM, ethernet, 68882 FPU. It's a pretty unremarkable system, but it does make for a decent vintage gaming machine.


I think the 68882 is pretty remarkable. Not a lot of LC boxes seem to have them installed.

I love my Quadra 700. I haven't used it in awhile, but it spent years acting as a router (via IPNetRouter). The cool thing about it is that it'd route through LocalTalk too, so not only did it serve all my ethernet machines, but also allowed all my older Macs without ethernet to connect to the internet as well.
:Onyx2: :Indigo2: :O3x0:

User avatar
modology
Posts: 347
Joined: Thu Sep 11, 2008 9:22 am

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby modology » Fri Sep 04, 2009 1:08 am

<ajerimez> Your room reminded about my lecturer's office or perhaps research office. Clean and tidy.


<ItsMeOnly> wow, your room is like small scale full fledeged DAW studio. I wonder if you use all of these keyboards there....though one deck on your rack looks like Yamaha O2R...maybe not. Do you use windows mainly or mac for your DAW tasks?

User avatar
ItsMeOnly
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: Warszawa, Poland
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby ItsMeOnly » Fri Sep 04, 2009 6:05 am

ajerimez wrote:it was playing dead recently, refusing to power up, but leaving it plugged in for several days was enough to "refresh the capacitors" (or whatever), so it finally booted.

My Performa 475 was acting like this, a kind guy in Apple service explained these do that when internal battery dies or is near death.
modology wrote:looks like Yamaha O2R...maybe not. Do you use windows mainly or mac for your DAW tasks?[/i]

It's 01, and I don't use software to control it, it is what it is: a downmix console. Using Linux to record.
:Indy: :O2:
Sun IPX, Mac 630, G4 Digital Audio, Amiga 1200T, HP Envizex a, A180, B132L.

User avatar
foetz
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6528
Joined: Mon Apr 14, 2003 4:34 am
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby foetz » Fri Sep 04, 2009 4:02 pm

ItsMeOnly wrote:Everyone sort of knows mine, but what the heck:


did you tidy up before shooting?

User avatar
ItsMeOnly
Posts: 289
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2006 12:56 pm
Location: Warszawa, Poland
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby ItsMeOnly » Sat Sep 05, 2009 6:03 am

foetz wrote:
ItsMeOnly wrote:Everyone sort of knows mine, but what the heck:


did you tidy up before shooting?

Just moved the cables offscreen ;-)
:Indy: :O2:
Sun IPX, Mac 630, G4 Digital Audio, Amiga 1200T, HP Envizex a, A180, B132L.

User avatar
guardian452
Donor
Donor
Posts: 3397
Joined: Tue Aug 21, 2007 10:12 pm
Location: United States
Contact:

Re: Show Off Your Home Office Setup & SGI Collection...

Unread postby guardian452 » Thu Sep 17, 2009 9:23 am

I think I've posted in one of these threads before but my stuff gets moved around so much it is likely completely different by now...

if you look closely you can see my super-high-tech 1600sw monitor leveling system (ball point pen):
DSC08616_small.JPG
thinkpad x40, hp xw9300


here is the other desk where you can see the console for the octane however ATM the keyboard and mouse (and that junky white monitor) are hooked up to my alpha as I'm in the mood for a bit of NT4 spelunking...
Attachments
DSC08617_small.JPG
sgi octane, alphastation 600


Return to “Everything Else”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests