So, should I go to law school?

For friendly off topic discussion not covered in a forum above.
Forum rules
No politics, please.
SiliconClassics

So, should I go to law school?

Unread postby SiliconClassics » Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:48 am

I'll try to make this long story short: I graduated from Cornell U. with a degree in computer science in 2000. My GPA wasn't so hot (2.9) but I never liked programming anyway and made a career in 3D animation.

Fast forwarding to recently, I'm through with animation. Applied to law schools (something I was considering way back in freshman year of college). Since I made this decision just a few months ago, I could only apply to the few local schools that had a rolling admissions policy that still allowed entrance this fall. I'd have to wait until next year to apply to most other schools.

Got a 167 on my LSAT and was just accepted to Brooklyn Law School with a full scholarship. So now the question is: Should I go? Should I wait a year and see if I can get into any top-tier schools? Should I do my first year in Brooklyn and try to transfer? Ideally I'd like to spend just a couple of years at a large firm and then start my own practice.

If there are any lawyers here who could offer advice, please do so! Thanks.
Silicon Classics on: YouTube | Twitter | Google+

josehill

Re: So, should I go to law school?

Unread postby josehill » Fri Jul 06, 2007 10:52 am

ajerimez wrote:Got a 167 on my LSAT and was just accepted to Brooklyn Law School with a full scholarship. So now the question is: Should I go? Should I wait a year and see if I can get into any top-tier schools? Should I do my first year in Brooklyn and try to transfer? Ideally I'd like to spend just a couple of years at a large firm and then start my own practice.

Congrats on getting in. Take a look at the school's alumni...where have they landed? Also check with their career office to see which large firms recruit there.

milatchi